May Update

I’m starting to feel like a librarian again, and not just a clerk. The help of the sub, although too intermittent to allow for instruction, has helped me get into the office and work on the books. I also have had the help of a grad student who is studying to be a Young Adult librarian; she’s getting some hands-on practice in modifying title and copy records in the catalog.

My friend Jimbo helped me prioritize all of those things that overwhelmed me. Here’s my list:
1. Grade the dang papers
2. Get the professional development hours squared away
3. Get the Library Guild to shelve books
4. Get the book fair books processed and in the hands of students
5. Tweak the cataloging on the new books

It took me a couple of weeks, but I got the papers graded. I need to go back and crunch the data to show student process, but the legwork is done. I need to finish adding up my professional development hours. The shelving has been taken care of by the wonderful sub and my adult volunteers, and the Guild has been straightening the shelves each week. The book fair books are all done, and I’m partway through the first box of the 14 boxes of new books. Because they come fully processed, there’s not much to be done, and I go through those fairly quickly when I have time to concentrate on them. Because I can’t switch back and forth between the Catalog and Circulation tabs without losing my work, I switch back and forth between the circ desk computer and my office computer. Having someone at the circ desk makes it possible to get these books done.

It’s been a month since I unpacked those 14 boxes of books. The end of the school year is fast approaching, and although I’m definitely making progress, I don’t know if I’m going to get them all put out before circulation stops for the year, probably at the end of May. At any rate, I’m on my way to putting good books in the hands of our students.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *